Easy Tricks to Remember the 7 Union Territories of India with Video


In this video, we have given an easy trick to remember the 7 union territories of India. The trick is in the form of mnemonics and is in both english and hindi. So if you want to know the trick , do watch the above video.

Here are a few important questions about the union territories of India, as requested by a few students.So go through them as they are very important from the exam point of view.

1.What is the difference between state and union territories in India?

Definition State is defined as the administrative units with their own elected government. Union Territory implies the constituent units that are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Administered by In a state, Chief Minister is elected by the people. In an union territory , Administrator is appointed by the President of India.
Head of Executive For state, Governor is the head of the executive For Union Territory, President is the head of the executive
Relationship with center For a union territory, it is Federal For a state, it is Unitary
Autonomy Yes, State has Autonomy No, Union Territory has no Autonomy
Area The Area is Large The Area is Small


2.Why union territories were formed?

Union Territories in India are basically formed for two reasons :

(i)Regions of Union Territories are too small to be a state and

(ii)Union Territories are too unique to be merged as a part of an another state.

A)Very far: Take the cases of Andaman & Nicobar islands and Lakshadweep islands.

Andaman & Nicobar islands are too distant from any Indian state and it is not feasible to be managed by an another state. However, it is not big enough to be a state of its own. Thus, the central government manages that territory by providing a local representative who will represent the region’s interests. Same is the case with Lakshadweep islands.

B)Have a different colonial heritage:

Pondicherry was a French colony, while Daman & Diu,  Dadra & Nagar Haveli were all Portuguese colonies. For centuries, these were managed with a different language, different culture and different system. They didn’t want to join the nearby states that were British colonies and with very different systems.

C)Special status: Chandigarh is a major city that was claimed by both Punjab and Haryana when these states were divided in 1966. Since, neither state wanted to give up, the central government made it an UT with a neutral ownership. In case of Delhi, it is a capital region and thus has a special status like Washington DC & many such capitals.

Union Territories to States:

Many of the present states were Union Territories once. Eventually, the local politicians convinced the Central government to upgrade their UT to a state with limited powers. Himachal Pradesh got the upgrade in 1971, Manipur, Meghalaya & Tripura in 1972, Goa, Mizoram & Arunachal in 1987.

3.How many states and union territories are there in India?

India has a total of 29 states and 7 union territories.

4.List the union territories with their capital?

Union Territories              Capital

Andaman and Nicobar    Port Blair

Chandigarh                    Chandigarh

Dadra& Nagar Haveli      Silvassa

Daman & Diu                 Daman

Lakshadeep                   Kavaratti

Pondicherry                   Pondicherry

Delhi                             Delhi

5.List the union territories to states?

(i)Himachal Pradesh got the upgrade in 1971,

(ii)Manipur, Meghalaya & Tripura in 1972,

(iii)Goa, Mizoram & Arunachal in 1987.

6.Why union territories cant be merged with the states?

Firstly, Chandigarh has the conflict between Haryana and Punjab over ownership,

Secondly Puducherry, Daman & Diu, Dadar & Nagar Haveli have non-British history and culture.

Thirdly,Andaman & Nicobar and Lakshwadeep islands are very distant from India.

Fourthly, Delhi on account of being the country’s capital.

7.Why is Delhi a union territory?

Having a Chief Minister doesn’t equate a region to a State. The need of having a CM results from the area size and population of that region. However, to be a State, a region must have full authority to make laws on all the subjects mentioned in the State List of the Constitution.

Sure, certain UTs (Delhi, Puducherry) which have Legislative Assembly can make laws on the subjects mentioned in the State List. But they don’t have full authority on it. Parliament can any day overrule these laws. However, Parliament can’t do so if these laws are made by a State Legislative Assembly (say, Punjab or Tamil Nadu etc.).

Moreover, Delhi can’t even make laws on all the subjects mentioned in the State List. For example, laws on public order, police, land have to be passed by Parliament.

So, Delhi is not a State, but a UT.

8.Who rules the Union Territory?

UTs are ruled directly by the central government through Lieutenant Governor as the administrator. He is appointed by the Central government and is also a representative of the President of India.

Although UTs have the option of forming respective governments and having a Legislature with elected Members and a Chief Minister (like New Delhi and Puducherry), yet the powers of such governments are lesser than the state governments.

9.Locate the union territories in Indian Map?

Image result for Locate the union territories in Indian Map?
Source – Maps of India

10.Why Delhi and Puducherry are called Quasi States?

By the definition of an Union Territory should NOT have an Legislative Assembly , so Pondicherry does not have one . Also it should be governed by the Central Government with a lieutenant-governer or an Administrator.

But, unlike other UTs, Pondicherry has been given partial state-hood. And, that is why it has its own elections, ministers and an assembly.

New Delhi, which is an another UT also has the same jurisdiction like Pondicherry. Delhi was given a seperate assembly with a ruling body based on the fact that it is the Capital of our Country.

The reason why Pondicherry has its own assembly his due to the Treaty of Cession, 1956. According to the treaty,

The Establishments will keep the benefit of the special administrative  status which was in force prior to 1 November 1954. Any constitutional  changes in this status which may be made subsequently shall be made  after ascertaining the wishes of the people.

So I hope I have just given you the basic questions about union territories of india.


We Provide Educational Videos in info-graphic style and its available free to access.If you like it,share it with friends.